Wim Hof Method – Day 8

Ups and downs. Good/bad. Yin-Yang etc . . .

Trying to follow Wim’s words of “feeling is understanding” will inevitably lead to varying practices. I have a tendency to be indecisive. Indecisiveness is a cousin of inconsistency. My practices the past few days have been riddled with inconsistencies. I am trying to add too many variables at once. I need to be more scientific in my methodology. I found today, that feeling is understanding. The second round of breathing gave me some guidance. Instead of focusing on which methods will allow me to hold my breath longer, focus on the physical feelings and then simply observe how long I can hold.

Observation over perception. This is important.

The Hof breathing exercises were followed by breath of fire breathing. I am going to add this to my practice. I don’t know if I will add it at the beginning or the end. It really works the diaphragm and forces the mind to focus on the breath. This reduces the possibilities of distraction; but only until I become proficient at the practice and can complete it seamlessly from muscle memory.  For now I will use it as a way to increase my control of the diaphragm.

The cold shower is getting easier and easier. A rhythmic breathing 5 second inhale, 4 second exhale count with small pauses helps to both breathe calmly under the cold, and keep track of how long I stay in.

Ex.

on the inhale 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 pause, exhale, 2, 3, 4, pause, in 2, 2, 3, 4, 5 pause . . .

Counting using the bold numbers allows me to ballpark each 10 second interval with each breath cycle. Today I stayed in for about 3.5 minutes.

Today was not the best practice with the breathing. I did note a few things and aim to observe more.

Leave a Reply

