Wim Hof Method – Day 15

I thought the shower was going to suck when I stepped in. It only took a few seconds to get comfortable and really calm my breath. I stepped out full of energy, no shivers. It’s getting better.

The work was done during the breathing. The shower was the easy part. I found that holding breath with completely empty lungs is just not consistent. The diaphragm has to be relaxed in order for the rest of the body to relax. I can strengthen the diaphragm by practicing breathing exercises, but there is no point in limiting my breath holding. The first two were done with empty lungs and the third was done with a normal relaxed inhale performed after the 30 deep breaths. The breath was not deep. Nothing was forced. The exhale before the breath was full, and the inhale was effortless. The calm I felt, along with the O2, allowed me to break 3 minutes.

_______________

Before the practice I took a walk. I counted as I stepped and inhaled/exhaled. Before when I showered, I would count to 5 on the inhale, and exhale for 5. I think that is an odd number for me and doesn’t really resonate with my natural breath. Inhale for counts of 8 and exhale for counts of 8. I do this when walking and it is very rhythmic. It took me back to when I would do this while running. Running, I would inhale/exhale on a 4 count, always. Sometimes I’d count faster, sometimes slower, but always with a rhythm.

This is when I noticed how much this breathing practice, rhythm and music are connected. I felt it a few times thus far when listening to icaros while breathing. I could feel my heartbeat in time with the music, my breathing would often match up. It seemed coincidentally weird. Now I know there is nothing weird about it. That 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 is musical rhythm. It’s a four four count. Each day when I practice, music is playing. Come to think of it, music is always playing. Music has been a valuable tool and will continue to be.

“After silence, that which comes nearest to expressing the inexpressible is music.” -Aldous Huxley

Observations 

Breathing

Times : 1:30, 1:15, 3.05

Physical: The second round of breathing was very intense. I wish I would have done the hold with some air in my lungs to see how long that hold would have been. The charge of O2 in the body really does feel like electricity going down tingling everywhere. This also is coupled with lightheadedness and cool ringing in the ears.

Mental: Felt very clear during the practice. Very good. I felt a lot of energy after.

Notes: Not going to stress the empty lungs on the hold going forward. Third breath was after a neutral inhale, not a deep breath.

Shower

The shower was great. Not at first, but it became pleasant quickly. I am trying to focus the water on the sensitive areas, which I learned are where brown fat is stored…coincidence?

Brownfat PETCT.jpg

Brown fat displayed as the patient was cold during the exam.

One thought on “Wim Hof Method – Day 15

  1. Don’t stop man! I started about a week behind you and I’m becoming more serious about it everyday. The breathing thing has been a bigger challenge for me than the cold showers. I was certain it would be the other way around. I’m fairly familiar with yogic breathing and I’m generally pretty conscious of my breath , but still it’s the bigger challenge. It really gets more interesting and exciting every day. Just wanted to chime in and tell you I’m enjoying reading your blog!

Leave a Reply

