Wim Hof Method – Day 17

I had to write this later than normal because things came up. I had some good conversations with a few different people regarding the direction of a few different things. It is important to be invested, but it is also important not to be over committed.

“Life is like riding a bicycle. To keep your balance you must keep moving.” Albert Einstein

I thought about balance today. Maybe my mind was more focused on moderation at the time that it came up. But ultimately, the concept of moderation is about balance. I read somewhere that there are three important aspects to your life that you must maintain. Relationships, work, and health. If, or I should say when, one of those three starts to take over, the others suffer. It is a zero sum game. We only have so much time to invest. There has to be a balance. We must obsess when we can dedicate time to something we love, but we must do so in moderation. I think that this rule, as with most rules, it can be applied at both a tiny and large scale. The small scale example that sparked my interest was directly related to the breathing practice.

Last night I watched more than a few videos instructing how to properly perform the Kundalini Yoga technique, breath of fire. While each teacher had their own way of explaining, all reinforced the importance of the exhale being equal to the inhale. If we exhale more breath than we inhale, the practice will not last more than a few seconds. They have to be balanced.

________________

Observations 

Breathing

Times : 1:00, 1:00, 1:30, 2:00

Physical: I tried a number of different seated and lying positions to try and improve my breathing. It was difficult today. I find that most movements are performed better when the lungs are empty. Empty lungs seem to improve my movements.

Mental: I was a bit distracted by my physicalities and other outside pressures. I was present during the practice and enjoyed it. I knew I could not dwell, but did not feel rushed. I finished with more energy and in a better mood than I’d started.

Notes: Don’t go crazy.

Shower

The shower was good. It ended up being pretty mechanical. I didn’t find time to focus on the cold, the breathing, or sticking around longer than I needed to get the job done.

Leave a Reply

