Wim Hof Method – Day 29

Woody Allen said that “80 percent of success is showing up.” I’m fairly sure that what he meant is that showing up is one of the harder things to commit to doing. But I think the quote can be twisted around to make it seems as though the work isn’t what is keeping us from showing up. The work is what makes you successful. Working is where you make mistakes and learn from them. Showing up isn’t easy. But once you are there, the hard part is just beginning. I guess maybe his quote wouldn’t have been so memorable had he said “80 percent of success is showing up for work.” There is beauty in simplicity.

If yesterday felt like I was trying to drive in a rusty nail, today made me realize that the whole box is starting to tarnish. There is really no way to create more time to practice. There is no way to motivate someone when there is time to procrastinate. In the fall, our bodies are probably programmed to pack in some comfort food, and settle in for the long winter. But, I don’t know what that means outside of a stale attempt to try and understand why motivations change like the weather. Today was fine actually.

I started the practice much later in the day than I’d planned. I also went to the gym and rolled jiu jitsu for a few hours. And, I followed it up with a nice long cold shower (which I am really starting to enjoy).
My practice started with some mobility exercises. I rolled out my neck and shoulders all while trying to synchronize my breathing. I likened it to yoga when you breathe as you are moving between positions. I just went with what felt natural. I was just trying to stay present and practice controlling my diaphragm. It worked pretty well. I find that the mobility really does help with keeping a controlled comfortable posture. The breath holding was not very good. I don’t think I had the right rhythm with my deep inhales. That said, I’m pretty confused as to why I haven’t gotten this down by now. Maybe I need some audio cues to help me keep rhythm. I’ve used something like this in the past, but I doubt it will work for such a strange breathing practice:

Maybe I’ll try and find something tomorrow. I’ve heard a few people saying that the inhale and exhale should be fairly equal and last 2-3 seconds each. I feel like I’m going a bit faster than that. The gif is slower than that . . . I gotta find my rhythm.

______________________

Observations 

Breathing

Times : 1:30, 2:00, 1:45

Physical: I completed the mobility cycle posted a few posts back and added some breathing along with it. Very simple warm up and a good way to relax into the practice. I felt a bit full from eating before starting. That’s always a bad idea.

Mental: I was a bit unfocused and let my mind wander regarding the timing of my breathing. I’m really thinking that it should be coming easier than it is. I’m sure that with some instruction I’d be doing much better. But I kind of like the challenge of having to figure it out on the fly. Fuck it.

Notes: Stop eating until you’ve practiced, and stop procrastinating. Show up.

Shower: Pretty awesome actually.

Leave a Reply

